You are not logged in.

#1 2022-02-13 3:06 pm

webeditor

asp.net code for stopforumspam API

Has anyone got, or know of an example, of asp.net code to call the API?? I want to do an automatic lookup of an IPaddress than comes in via a webform (I grab the senders IP address and at the moment I check them manually!)

I'm a bit of a beginner to external calls (I'm an ok asp.net coder).

Just want the simplest IP lookup at the moment then I can probably work out how to develp it further.

Many thanks in advance!

#2 2022-02-13 5:04 pm

Alex Kemp
Website

Re: asp.net code for stopforumspam API

Hi webeditor, welcome to SFS.

I cannot help you with asp.net (I work FOSS only). Look at this topic to find "sfsdiag.zip" (to help test your system for effective access) + the API Usage page for examples of how-to-access. Once you have it working, come back to this page & post some examples of asp code to help others. You are going to have to be the leader in this, I am afraid.

One piece of advice:-
Make sure that you cache all results & (for best) deal with new users at login only. If you do NOT implement & follow these sorts of guidelines then, inevitably, your auto-API searches will represent an intolerable burden on our site & your IP will go into the site Firewall as a permanent block.

Please do not take this advice in the wrong way. In the past we have had thousands of folks simultaneously effectively attempting to use SFS as their firewall. That behaviour represented a DDOS attack towards SFS & it quickly brought this site to it's knees. We now have a zero-tolerance policy towards such behaviour & act without warning to protect our service.

#3 2022-02-14 9:38 am

webeditor

Thanks Alex,

The check I am considering would be low impact on the stopforumspam service as I would only be testing "New" forum registrations, not every login.