You are not logged in.

#1 2008-10-01 7:15 pm

cloudddae
Website

What exatcly are spammers

hoping to gain by signing up at my forum? Recently we have had a rush of new people signing up at our forum. Up until yesterday this had not occurred.
Why all of the sudden?
I was letting them join at first. Gmail addy`s, looked harmless. Then it got a bit crazy. 7 people in one day? Red flag went up.
Googled the most recent one and found this site.
Ran all new members through your search, all botts. Sux, cause I was excited at first. I even welcomed the ones I let in.
Could they have harmed my forum curring the short time they were there?
What are the signs that something is amiss. I am a noob, please bear with me on this.

#2 2008-10-01 9:50 pm

MysteryFCM
Website

Re: What exatcly are spammers

What do spammers gain? exposure for their links > money

Do the spammers care which forums they hit? Nope, aslong as they can get their spam there

Could they have done any damage to your actual forum? Doubtful (spamming is far from the same as hacking)

What are the signs of a spammer? Usually the IP and/or e-mail address will give it away. Otherwise, their posts are a definate giveaway. Usual examples are;

1. Spam with links in the post itself
2. Spam with random rubbish but no links in the actual post - these have their links in the "Homepage" field of their profile.

Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

#3 2008-10-01 10:41 pm

Ax Slinger
Website

MysteryFCM wrote:

2. Spam with random rubbish but no links in the actual post - these have their links in the "Homepage" field of their profile.